The Mission of the Georgia Council for the Social Studies is to advocate for, support, and celebrate the advancement of quality social studies teaching for Georgia students.

The Vision of the Georgia Council for the Social Studies is to prepare students to be knowledgeable, effective decision makers and engaged citizens in a globally interdependent world.

GEORGIA COUNCIL FOR THE SOCIAL STUDIES

www.gcss.net

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

August 2015 – Website List

 

 

PRESIDENT

Pam Roach (2020)

work email:  pamela.roach@cobbk12.org

North Cobb High School

3400 Old Highway 41 North

Kennesaw, GA 30144

ofc:  404-413-7823/ fax: 404-413-7827

 

PRESIDENT ELECT

David Kendrick (2020)

work email:  pamela.roach@cobbk12.org

Bear Creek Middle School

228 Jefferson St. 

Statham, GA 30666

ofc:  770-725-5575/

 

GCSS PAST PRESIDENTS

Debbie Kelly (2017)

email: dkelly@paulding.k12.ga.us

Paulding County Schools

3236 Atlanta Highway

Dallas, GA 30132

ofc:  770-443-8003 ext. 1-0117

fax: 770-443-6014

 

Tammy Ponder (2018)

email: trponder@paulding.k12.ga.us

Paulding County Schools/Moses Middle

1066 Old County Farm Rd.

Dallas, GA 30132

ofc:  770-443-8727 fax: 770-443-8078

 

Chris Cannon (2019)

work email:  ccannon11@gsu.edu

Georgia Council on Economic Education

P. O.  Box 1619, Atlanta 30301-1619

ofc:  404-413-7823/ fax: 404-413-7827

 

BOARD MEMBERS

Ashley Goodrich (2017)

North Oconee HS

1081 Rocky Branch Road

Bogart, GA 30622

email: ashleyagoodrich@gmail.com

ofc: 706-769-7760 EXT 4205

 

Heather MacKenzie  (2017)

email: hmackenzie@henry.k12.ga.us

Henry County Schools

33 N. Zack Hinton Parkway

McDonough, GA 30253

ofc: 770-957-6547 

fax:  770-957-0301

 

Jane McKinzey (2017)

jmckinze@kennesaw.edu

Kennesaw State University

Direct:  770-491-7496

 

Sally Meyer (2018)

Fayette County Schools

Lafayette Ave., Fayetteville, GA 30214

ofc:   770-460-3990

email: meyer.sally@mail.fcboe.org

 

Laura Ambrose (2019)

Clarke County Social Studies Coordinator

440 Dearing Extension

Athens, GA 30606

ofc:  706-546-7721   x20761  

email: ambrosel@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Kim Weston   (2019)

work email: kimberlyn_h_weston@dekalbschoolsga.org

Social Studies Coordinator, K-12

DeKalb County Schools

1701 Mountain Industrial Blvd.

Stone Mountain, GA  30083

OFC: 678-676-0144

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Eddie Bennett

email: gcss1964@gmail.com

cell: 770-287-2690

P.O. Box 675, Avondale Estates 30002

 

SOCIAL STUDIES FAIR DIRECTOR

Sharon Coleman

Retiring Board Member Sharon Coleman and Executive Director Eddie Bennett

email: smcoleman50@yahoo.com

 

GA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

EX OFFICIO MEMBER

Joy Hatcher

email:  jhatcher@doe.k12.ga.us

Social Studies Program Manager

Georgia Department of Education

1754 Twin Towers, 205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE

Atlanta, 30334-5040

OFC: 404-656-2093

work cell: 404-975-7713

 

CONFERENCE COORDINATOR

Pam Knauer

Work email:  pknauer@mgresa.us

 

SECRETARY AND EDITOR, News & Notes

JoAnn Wood

home email: msjoannwood@gmail.com

cell: 770-355-9695

 

HISTORIAN

David Kendrick   (2016)

email: dtkendrick@gmail.com

Bear Creek Middle School

228 Jefferson St., Statham, GA 30666

OFC: 770-725-5575

 

Mailing Address

Georgia Council for the Social Studies

P. O. Box 675

Avondale Estates, GA 30002